Facing criminal charges for violent crimes is something that should be taken very seriously. The sentencing guidelines for violent crimes in Maryland are harsh. Defendants who are facing these types of charges should understand the possible penalties since doing so can help them to make choices regarding their defense as they move through the criminal justice process.
What are the possible penalties for assault?
The penalties for assault crimes vary greatly based on the circumstances of the crime. In the case of first-degree assault, which is a felony, a maximum incarceration period of 25 years is possible. Second-degree assault is a misdemeanor that carries up to 10 years in prison and a $2,500 fine.
What are the possible penalties for a hate crime?
Hate crime charges can be either felony charges or misdemeanors. A misdemeanor hate crime charge carries a maximum of 3 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. A felony hate crime charge that doesn’t involve a death carries up to 10 years and a $10,000 fine. If the hate crime results in death, a sentence of up to 20 years and a fine of $20,000 is possible.
What are the possible penalties for using a gun during a felony?
The possible penalties depend on certain circumstances, such as the type of weapon. Assault weapon convictions, for example, carry a mandatory minimum of 5 years and a maximum of 20 years on a first offense if the weapon was used in the commission of a felony. A machine gun used during a violent crime carries a 20-year sentence and is a felony.
Violent crime charges must be taken seriously. If you are facing these types of charges, get started on your defense strategy today.
Source: Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, “Sentencing Guidelines Offense Table,” accessed Aug. 30, 2015
7310 Ritchie Highway, Suite 910
Glen Burnie, MD 21061
30 Corporate Center
10440 Little Patuxent Parkway,
Columbia, MD 21044