Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Glen Burnie & Columbia Family & Criminal Lawyer
  • Available to Help You 24/7
  • Free Initial Consultation
410-766-0113 Anne Arundel County

Maryland Man Saved From Burning Car Charged With DUI

CarFire

A man’s life was saved after he crashed his vehicle, which caught fire. The man was stuck inside the burning car and was rescued by police troopers. But his ordeal didn’t end there. He was then charged with DUI.

The incident occurred on the morning of May 9 on northbound Route 1 at Ritz Way in Beltsville. A 29-year-old man from Laurel was driving a Ford Fusion when he crashed into a parked police vehicle. The police vehicle was parked next to another police vehicle and tending to an initial crash.

The Ford caught fire, trapping the driver inside. Maryland State Police troopers rescued the man from the burning vehicle. The impact of the crash caused a trooper to get struck by a patrol vehicle. The trooper was sent flying 10-15 feet. He was injured and taken to a local hospital for treatment. He has since been released.

The driver of the Ford was unconscious once he was rescued from his burning car. He was hospitalized with unknown injuries. He is facing charges of driving under the influence.

Maryland DUI Laws

Impaired driving is illegal in Maryland. Penalties have increased over the years, so there’s more at risk if you choose to drink and drive.

The legal limit is 0.08. If you are caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above that level, you could face various penalties. Keep in mind that Maryland recognizes both driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) and driving while impaired by alcohol (DWI) charges. The difference is that drivers with a BAC of 0.07 or higher are charged with DWI, while a driver with a BAC of 0.08 or above will be charged with DUI.

For a first-time DWI, a driver will face a $500 fine and two months in prison. They will also get their driver’s license suspended for six months and eight points on their driving record. For a DUI, the penalties are even stricter. The fine increases to $1,000 and the driver can face up to one year in jail. They will also get their driver’s license suspended for six months and 12 points on their driving record. Participation in an alcohol abuse assessment and program may be required as well.

If you have prior DUI offenses on your criminal record or had a minor in the vehicle at the time of your DUI arrest, the penalties will increase even more. 

Contact a Maryland Criminal Defense Attorney Today

DUI offenses come with a lot of consequences. Make sure you have someone on your side who can help defend you.

A Columbia DUI & traffic offenses lawyer from The Law Offices of Todd K. Mohink, P.A. can save your reputation, relationships, career, and more. Our knowledgeable attorneys will take care of you. Schedule a free consultation today by calling (410) 774-5987 or filling out the online form. We have two offices to serve you.

Source:

baltimore.cbslocal.com/2022/05/09/man-saved-from-fiery-crash-charged-with-dui-after-crashing-into-maryland-state-police-vehicle-injuring-trooper/

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn