Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
TODD K. MOHINK, PA Glen Burnie & Columbia Family & Criminal Lawyer

Maryland DUI With Kids in the Car

Defense4

Getting charged with a DUI is bad enough, but if you are caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Maryland, and you have children in the car at the time of your arrest, you could be facing seriously enhanced penalties. If you are arrested for DUI with children in your car, our dedicated team wants you to know your options. Don’t plead guilty until you’ve spoken with a knowledgeable and experienced DUI defense lawyer.

Maryland DUI Basics 

Under Section 21-902 of the Maryland Revised Statutes, it’s unlawful to drive while impaired by alcohol. There are two basic ways you can be found guilty of driving while impaired by alcohol. First, you can be found guilty of DUI per se, meaning your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is measured and found to be above the legal limit, which is 0.08% in Maryland. But even without a BAC level above the legal limit (and even without submitting to a breathalyzer at all), you can still be convicted based on other evidence of intoxication.

What are the Basic Penalties for DUI? 

In general, absent other charges or aggravating factors, DUI penalties are as follows:

  • First Offense                                           Up to 1 year in jail                          Up to $1,000 fine
  • Second Offense                                           Up to 2 years in jail                        Up to $2,000 fine
  • Third of Subsequent Offenses             Up to 3 years in jail                        Up to $3,000 fine

 

A prior conviction is one that occurred within 5 years of the present offense. There are some exceptions, so you should definitely speak with an attorney about your unique circumstances to be sure you understand the possible penalties you may face.

What Happens if a Child is in the Car? 

If you have a minor in the vehicle with you at the time of your arrest, the penalties are more severe. For instance, take a look at the elevated sentencing guidelines:

  • First Offense                                           Up to 2 years in jail                        Up to $2,000 fine
  • Second Offense                                           Up to 3 years in jail                        Up to $3,000 fine
  • Third of Subsequent Offenses             Up to 4 years in jail                        Up to $4,000 fine

 

Basically, the same crime has an extra year and extra $1,000 added to each sequential offense.

Other Similar Offenses 

If you are not actually intoxicated or “under the influence,” as defined in the statute, you may still be charged with lesser offenses, such as driving while alcohol impaired or while impaired by a combination of drugs and alcohol. These carry lighter sentences. Keep in mind that if you are arrested with a child in the car, even these lighter sentences can be enhanced.

Fighting a DUI Charge in Maryland 

If you are charged with a drug or alcohol related driving offense in Anne Arundel, Howard, or Baltimore Counties, call an attorney with the experience to fight for your rights. Never plead guilty or talk to police and prosecutors without first discussing your case with a knowledgeable defense lawyer. Call the Law Offices of Todd K. Mohink today to schedule your consultation.

Resource:

mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmStatutesText.aspx?article=gtr&section=21-902&ext=html&session=2018RS&tab=subject5

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Your journey to justice starts today. Whether you have an immediate need for legal assistance, or you have been putting off contacting an attorney for legal help, the Law Offices of Todd K. Mohink is here for you. Simply fill out the quick form to the right to schedule a consultation with a compassionate, dedicated and experienced attorney here to serve you.

Law Pay

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation