Law Offices of Todd K. Mohink, PA
Accessible & Affordable
An experienced Family Law and Criminal Law Firm.
Free Initial Consultation
Toll Free 800-266-8151

Maryland Expands Traffic Laws to Prohibit Handheld Phone Use

It was only last year when the state outlawed text messaging while driving, but Maryland has already tightened its reigns further by outlawing the use of handheld cell phones while driving. The new law went into effect last Friday, Oct. 1.

Police cannot pull drivers over for handheld use alone. In order to be punished for violating the new traffic law, a driver must have committed another traffic violation first. For example, if an officer pulls someone over for speeding and they notice that the driver was also talking on a phone without using a hands-free device, the officer can then cite that person for both traffic violations: speeding and using a handheld phone while driving.

Advocates for the new legislation are happy and confident that the hands-free law will better protect Maryland roads and save lives. They point to the statistic that more than one quarter of the fatal accidents that occur every year are connected to cell phone use behind the wheel. People's bad habits need to change, they argue, and the law will push them toward safer driving behaviors.

Opponents of the restrictive cell phone legislation are tired of the government trying to tell everyone how they should behave. They think it is hypocritical to label cell phone use and texting while driving as illegal behaviors when other driving habits that could be just as dangerous are ignored. In regards to traffic violations and the required fines that follow, citizens are also suspicious that tickets are just another way for the state to make money.

A first violation of the new cell phone law costs $40, and further violations will cost $100. According to sources, one group is already profiting from the law: those who sell hands-free cell phone devices. When people are fined for a first offense, the state will give them a chance to skip the $40 fine - but only if they prove that they have purchased a hands-free device. Depending on how much those devices cost, a violation of the new law will cost drivers some of their hard-earned money.

Source

Bloomberg Businessweek: Maryland bans holding cell phone while driving; Brian Witte, 9/28/2010

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

To make an appointment, call us toll free today: 800-266-8151

Anne Arundel County
Empire Towers
7310 Ritchie Highway, Suite 912
Glen Burnie, MD 21061

Phone: 410-766-0113
Fax: 410-766-0270
Glen Burnie Office Map/Directions

Howard County Office
30 Corporate Center
10440 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 900
Columbia, MD 21044

Phone: 410-964-0050
Columbia Office Map/Directions

Baltimore County (Arbutus/Catonsville)
Phone: 410-719-7377
Fax: 410-766-0270

Back to top